The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Finished the jigsaw!

The one that was started about a week ago. This is a tiny section of it. I will try to add one of the whole picture in extras. The colours are vibrant, and I loved it. Afterwards I went online and found out that all the good jigsaws in the world have already been bought during lockdown. Such a pity!  I will carry on wading through my existing pile of puzzles.

Had a brainwave today and went to town to see if the cheese stall was open in the Shambles. Thankfully, it was, and I was able to get a 'normal' piece of Double Gloucester with chives (see yesterday's blip for the abnormal cheese packaging). The veg stalls were also open for business. I'd have loved to have been inside with my card stall, just for the company.

After buying some frozen goods nearby, I went home. Stopped to chat from afar with a friend, who gave me some lily of the valley from her garden.  Made Waldorf salad for lunch, very 80s, but I suddenly realised I had all the right ingredients, so it seemed a good idea. It was ok, but needs a more tart apple, I think, than the nondescript ones I used. 

Started a bit of fridge cleaning, but stopped before I went crazy. Threw out an unopened jar of dry Rendang curry, best before end of 2011! Finished the jigsaw in the garden. Made soy and honey marinaded salmon for supper, with Cornish new potatoes.

Installed a new app on the Tv to try and cast movies from MUBI via my phone or other device to the TV. Couldn't get anything to talk to anything, and the TV went bad on us just as we were trying to watch Have I got New for You? Fixed it, eventually. 

All the tech... I've had to learn to use Zoom, Canvas, reacquaint myself with Skype, try to cast to the TV ( I can't even knit, for heaven's sake, so why would I involve a TV?) then there's the phone, with its text, Whats App, email and Messenger, plus the landline. Sometimes my mobile phone even rings, too.  

Twenty years ago, how much of this tech would I have had personally? Landline, email, and maybe a version of a fax machine on my computer (or Did I just make that bit up)? I lived alone, then. Lockdown would have been a much less connected experience. I cannot complain about keeping in touch, because it's keeping us sane, even as the beeping and pinging is driving us crazy! It drowns out the sound of the ambulance sirens, though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.