Apple Blossom Special

I walked up to the Scotmid; another fine sunny day. The Friday paper habit dies hard. Being there, I also bought some bacon. That’s a Saturday habit that’s hanging on there too. And on the way I met Martin, one of the neighbours who stood and chatted - but too closely! It’s funny how uncomfortable that now makes you feel. He seemed totally unaware, and he’s an NHS worker too. Perhaps he’s just used to working in close proximity to people of course. Like we all used to be.
Walking back, P&K arrived on their bikes, so we stood at the top gate looking over the sea. The SK was absent, having gone off with promises of fetching me a courgette plant from Lidl. 
So, there was gardening, sitting in the sun reading, and come 6:30pm a catch up with the London tiddlers who now long to chuck it all in and head to the country and grow stuff. London without its cultural and social attractions isn’t much of a place I guess. Young H has it all worked out; even down to the money you get for re-wilding (yes, he’s an idealist) - but I was surprised at his inclusion of pigs, as they’re both veggies. Come the first winter, I reckon he might just begin to think of bacon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.