Daisies and Ganesha

I'd wanted to take this photo for a little while having seen some suitable daisies in the grass at the top of the drive.

I'd picked up the ink bottle, which has a colour reminiscent of the sea off the Outer Hebrides on a sunny day, at the bric a brac market in Loughborough a year or so ago.

Now, Ganesha, the Hindu god of wisdom, success and good luck was a chance buy in Mahabalipuram when Len, Rosie and I visited in 1988. I think people must have been selling their household figurines because they knew tourists wanted them and they needed the money. At any rate, I think it's very charming. I know, made of ivory, but bought long before the ivory trade was banned.

Daisies are splendid little flowers. Apparently they signify innocence and purity. Daisy is the pet name for anyone called Margaret or Marguerite.

In contrast to yesterday I rose late and hung around at the computer instead of getting ready to take Basil out. When I did, I had to get back for an RPS DiG presentation on Zoom.

Now I intend to read and record a story for William. The weather is still wonderful but a change is forecast over the next 48 hours. I told David round the corner that it would rain tomorrow. It made no difference. He still put on his sprinkler over his front lawn.

I think Len and I differ from our neighbours. We don't look for immaculate borders and lawns. We like the garden to go native although Len did mow the side strip this afternoon when he should have been letting it grow to encourage the 'wild flower meadow' he tried to plant in the Autumn.

Today's haiku:

the holy month begins
Ramadan Kareem greetings
flood the internet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.