DERELICT SUNDAY

As we are both in the "Three Score and Ten Plus" age group, ever since the lockdown, Mr. HCB and I have done all that has been required of us by the Government.  We have stayed indoors, we have washed our hands, we haven’t been out to do any supermarket shopping, but have been out just once a day for our exercise - and all this has been done together.

After having a chat with our older son, Martyn, yesterday, he reminded me that for him and his Dad, Mr. HCB, things haven’t changed that much;  they both enjoyed being at home, in fact, Martyn works from home, so would often go a couple of days without seeing anyone, and of course, as you all know, Mr. HCB loves being in the greenhouse or garden, just pottering around.

However, for Martyn’s wife, Dawn and me, things have been very different;  we are both used to going out most days, meeting friends, having coffee - going to the gym - Dawn, not me, I hasten to add - and generally being sociable, so lockdown has been quite different and sometimes difficult for us.  

Fortunately, we have great neighbours, and have afternoon tea with them every day at 4 p.m. so at least we are having some social contact - although we keep our prescribed distance apart, and we speak to members of our family on the phone or message them, so we are managing very well.

However, this morning, Mr. HCB had something else to do, so I took the opportunity to go out for a walk on my own - and I have to say, it was great.  As much as I love him, it was good to be able to think my own thoughts and to sing as I walked and just enjoy God’s wonderful creation all around me.  

I even found a new little place - in fact, I would call it a sanctuary, just minutes from where we live - and somewhere I didn’t even know existed.  I have told Mr. HCB about it though and when we do our next walk, will take him there, so that he can enjoy it too.

On the way home, I saw this tree, which I know I have blipped before, but it was just right for Derelict Sunday - it is standing in a very boggy area, and is obviously dead, but I liked the shape of it.  Walking around the area and being very careful not to get my feet wet, because the boggy area is quite deep, I noticed several little horse chestnut trees growing - obviously from where the conkers have dropped from the neighbouring tree so we will watch those with interest as time goes on - see my extra.

Just had a great service from Church online and then a Zoom Coffee Group with all our Church friends - thank God for technology at this time.

Our sermon this morning was from Psalm 1 and as there are trees in my Blip today, these verses seem appropriate:

“God blesses those people who refuse evil advice 
     and won't follow sinners or join in sneering at God.
Instead, they find happiness 
     in the teaching of the Lord,
          and they think about it day and night.
They are like trees growing beside a stream,
     trees that produce fruit in season
          and always have leaves.
Those people succeed 
     in everything they do.”
Psalm 1 : 1-3 Contemporary English Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.