Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Canongate Kirk (Day 41)

I popped round to the shop this morning to get some milk, and noticed that the (half price) Lindt Easter Bunnies are still there, so of course, one fell into my basket.

Becky and Daniel came to Archie out today. He was delighted to see them again. Becky has been furloughed from her job, and is delighted. Daniel can work from home.

JR went for her run (it’s getting tougher now - longer runs in between the walking bits) and then we went for a walk. Our destination was the Canongate Kirk down the Royal Mile (where Zara Philips - and CanCarrier’s brother - got married, though not at the same ceremony). We’d seen photos on Instagram with the blossom out, which reminded us. Spot Archie!

A lovely stroll through the Meadows, looking glorious (The Meadows, not us). We saw a man being towed along on his skateboard by three huskies.

I gave up after a sit down opposite Greyfriar’s Bobby. I felt I couldn’t make it all the way there, and then back. Sometimes I just don’t feel up to it. So I came home while the others went on.

I revived after a cup of tea and half of the Easter Bunny, and listened to my audiobook.

JR made it to the church and back, no bother. 

Extra 1).  Archie didn’t notice the doggies watching him.

Extra 2). The statue of Robert Ferguson (a poet who influenced Robert Burns is buried here) outside the Kirk. 

Extra 3). More blossom (couldn’t resist).

City photos by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.