Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A brush with the law... (Day 42)

A meeting of the three fitness fanatics in the front garden this morning, discussing distances, running apps and fitness gear. I was in the shower for much of it - just as well - I can’t add anything. I do wish I could.

We took a walk down to the Meadows - we really can’t miss a day of the blossom, for it won’t last much longer. JR and Archie set off to the other side, but I sat on a bench to wait for them. But who’s this coming towards me? Yes, a couple of PC Plods... They were very pleasant, but asked me not to sit for too long. I assured them that I wouldn’t. But I did. I kept an eye on them until they were far away on the other side of the park - I could spot ‘em a mile away in their hi-viz waistcoats. I waited till the Archie and JR returned, just enjoying the sights (Extra) then we walked home. 

We’ve been working up to making our own Chinese dumplings. Our neighbours made us some a week or so ago, and have brought us all the shopping, and today was the day. We made a vegetarian filling, with shiitake mushrooms and ginger and lots of other stuff and assembled the little dumplings. You can boil them, steam them or fry them, or a combination of methods. We went for the easiest - frying - and it also makes them nice and crispy. And they were delicious. More tomorrow night!

All this time we haven’t known of anyone victims of Covid-19, but an ex-colleague let us know that the janitor we used to work with had died of it. He was 53.

I can’t seem to add any extras... After dozens of tries, now the next day, I succeeded. But it’s not the one I wanted to put in. Weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.