CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Bombylius major, the large bee-fly feeding

I risked picking up my camera today when I saw a bumble bee flying close to the wisteria flowers. By the time I was ready to photograph and was certain of the rather precarious footing I needed to be doubly sure of my safety, the bumble bee had departed.

I waited for a while and then noticed this hoverfly and with my second shot I caught it as it started to poke its proboscis into the flower. I took many more pictures and my shoulder felt reasonably secure. Later the pain set in again after the rather odd muscle movements needed for macro photography. I was standing only two yards from where I landed upside down nearly a week ago. 

Bombylius major (commonly named the large bee-fly or the dark-edged bee-fly) is a parasitic bee mimic fly. B. major is the most common type of fly within the Bombylius genus. The fly derives its name from its close resemblance to bumblebees and are often mistaken for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.