Week 6- Day 2

Our first eggs. Then when I looked right inside the coop, I saw 2 small soft eggs that had dropped down in the perch area. I suspect they were laid yesterday, when the two new hens didn’t know what was happening! Today, one big one and one small one, so may even be Minnie who laid the bigger one. The main thing is that both were in the nest box. Now I’m in a quandary. Among other things, I need a new cooker (the one I want is £800) ( the new 22 year old one I was given is burning everything) I’d like a dishwasher, ( kitchen too small for 5 peoples washing up to be piled up all day on the non existent surface - we have suffered it for 5 years but now I can’t stand it) (£200) and we need patio slabs to do the patio (£400). But a new hen house would be nice....so what is my priority!?

The patio probably. Then a dishwasher, as that will make a big difference to our lives, then saving for a kitchen next year I hope. I will just have to knock baking on the head for a while, and in the mean time bin the black on the bottom meringues Mollie just made :( Very annoying.

Work was like walking through treacle in a straight jacket. Things didn’t work, so I achieved precisely nothing today, but the work kept piling up. Oh well, there is always tomorrow. I did at least manage to make a few phone calls with my headset and new telephony, and even answered a call without cutting them off. It is all very odd.

Mollie cooked tea, using my leeks from the allotment we had leek and ham cheesy bake. Leeks, wrapped in ham covered in a cheese sauce. Very tasty.

It has been raining here. I haven’t been out, only to water things in the greenhouse, oh, and to check on my clay man in the potting shed. He is drying out nicely, and hasn’t fallen apart yet!

Didn’t manage any crocheting last night...perhaps tonight, before the series finale of Our Girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.