Childhood Memories

Some of my Christmas Present Annuals, which sit on a shelf in the TV room.

I referred to one of the Rover Annuals today to find a comic strip featuring "Matt Braddock, VC".

That name may raise a few smiles and happy memories.

I am working on a little feature for the Probus Club Fortnightly Comic about "Navigators".

Reg, the current Probus President is a retired RAF Navigator who flew as Navigator in a Vulcan V Bomber.

He had proposed that the Probus Club be closed for this year with a view to opening up in February next year, Covid-19 permitting.

Entirely sensible and I had replied to his email with a straightforward positive response.

Apparently, I may have been first, but many other members had chucked their toys out of their proms and objected on many spurious grounds.

Reg then sent out a second email, saying that he was not going to reply to all these spurious arguments and he would resign forthwith if members tried to organise meetings.

The final shot was that he would not return until he had received "a COVID-19 Vaccination" and of course he is entirely correct.

Effectively, I am at home until a vaccine is developed and given. 
I am very happy at home, and I am enjoying many activities which I had to ignore in the past.

The article will feature, Matt Braddock’s navigator, Sgt George Bourne.

The second navigator will be about Motor Rally Navigation of which I am something of an expert and the third navigator is the one who resides  in the "robot" known as your smartphone.

"Siri, give me walking directions to Reg’s House".

NB Other smartphone navigators are available.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.