Apple Blossom

The one remaining apple tree in the garden is in flower. I'm afraid I don't know the variety though. It's one of those clever trees with three different varieties grafted on to one trunk. It was a present many years ago from my three children. Some of the apples are cookers and others are eaters. The last few years, since our next door neighbour chopped back the enormous holly which was crowding the tree, have seen big crops from all three grafts. I had a go with the olympus again today and I was quite pleased with the result.

My walk took place early when there was still a bit of a promising sky. Met a friend, also doing an early dog walk, and we chatted about the covid19 in care homes scandal. The number of people dying is so distressing.

Home for coffee with my niece in Maastricht and a catch up on how things are going in the Netherlands and with her family. Its so good to be able to do this.

Baking didn't happen yesterday because the weather was good for gardening. It's all change today though as the early morning promise hasn't really been fulfilled. It's pretty cloudy with a cold wind so I think the garden is off for today and baking might be on. I've recorded myself reading two stories, No Roses for Harry and The Giant Jam Sandwich, for the grandchildren. Both ancient books but I hope they'll enjoy them.

My brother in law has finished scanning some old family photographs which we took from mum's flat nearly three years ago. There are some particularly good ones. They were in a complete guddle but now we can do a bit of cataloguing. I've got digital copies of quite a few other old family photos too so the trick will now be to get one systematic archive organised. For another day!

Yoga tonight and that'll be Wednesday. Hope everyone is keeping well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.