Wonderful Wattles

Sporting this season's distinctive, vibrant and positively sporty wattles my pheasant here in the garden couldn't wait to pay me a visit, probably because the ground was littered with peanuts for the woodie. 

We were both up early doors to avoid the rain and no sooner had I zipped up the hide door than I saw him marching purposefully towards me talking to himself as usual ...  His fierce glare was returned as I didn't want to blow my cover by restocking the peanuts but I needn't have worried as he didn't get the high ones. 

He was without his mate of yesterday so I presumed she might be having a lie in on the nest - it is only Wednesday.  Lucky girl. By 8:30 I'd had enough, 3 hours was more than enough and called it a day as my toes were freezing even though I'd been wearing boots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.