Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Crozier

First up on Wednesday morning was a recording I had been asked to do for Sunday's church service so, after a bit of footering about with my phone and my camera mini-tripod and stand, I got that done and the link sent off to the minister. Another bit of playing about with, and tidying up of, the Inbox filters on my email (see yesterday's entry) and that was my morning.

My afternoon consisted of a walk along to and then around Chacefield Wood at Head of Muir where many photos were taken, today's Blip among them. By the time I reached home I realised I had been out of doors for a little more than two-and-a-half hours. Oops, we are meant to limit our exercise away from home to an hour. Ach well, no-one need know!

The curled-up part of a fern before it unfurls into fronds is called a fiddlehead, apparently, although the correct term according to t'Internet is crozier or crosier. That term (crozier, not fiddlehead, although it would be an interesting development if adopted) is usually used for the long staff with the hooked top carried by church bishops on ceremonial occasions, representing a shepherd's crook, the idea being that they are responsible for the care of their 'flock'.

In a strange coincidence, Sunday's suggested Bible Reading, and the one I recorded earlier today (if you're keeping up!) is the passage where Jesus refers to himself as the Good Shepherd. With that bit of unintended synchronicity and having gone full circle, I think it best to call it a day. Beer o'clock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.