Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Quacklings

Wednesday was a musical day. With no concerts taking place at the moment, I get a weekly email from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra with about three or four links to some of the players playing short tunes from home. A bit of a backlog had built up, so I spent Wednesday morning working my way through the emails and listening to the videos on Youtube and playlists on Spotify and generally immersing myself in a bit of culture.

While that was taking place, I was also working my way through another backlog - for some reason I have several hundred photos from 2017 that had never been added to Flickr (actually I have just remembered the reason, but we'll draw a veil over that) so I edited another month's worth of these and posted them online.

By 3.30pm my computer had had enough and 'froze'. All the lights were on at the desktop CPU, and the mouse, monitor, etc were in a state of suspended animation. CTRL+ALT+DEL had no effect, switching it off had no effect either (i.e. it simply didn't switch off) so I went and made a cup of tea and then went for a walk along to Haggs and back home along the Canal.

Photos were taken (obligatory duckling shots for Blip 'in the bag') and I returned home an hour or so later to find nothing had changed on the computer front. Unplugged the beast, counted to ten, plugged it in, switched it on and normal, albeit slow, service resumed once it had restarted. Decided to leave posting my Blip for another day - hence the delay.

But, hey, even computers need a rest from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.