Cuckoo Bee And Wood Smudge Moth

I've chosen to post this image of a Gooden's nomad bee partly because it's on a lovely fresh field maple leaf. Today is the ninth wedding anniversary of Prince William and Duchess Catherine, congratulations to them. Westminster Abbey was decorated with field maple trees for the wedding. I've been thinking back to the lovely Honda S2000 meet and run that my daughter and I attended on the day of the wedding. We're both missing such events during lockdown. I think my cuckoo bee is a male judging by his lemon moustache.

The pic below is a moth that I haven't seen before. I think it might be a wood smudge. These do like oak and I found it near our southerly tree.

When Ollie dog and I were walking just before nine we heard blackbird and wren alarm calls so I guessed there was a predator was about. Half way up Butterfly Alley we spotted Brock the badger sauntering along. 

Wonderful news about the healthy baby boy born today to Boris our PM and his fiancée Carrie. What a terribly stressful time they have both had over the past few months.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.