Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

All birds today!  These are nine favorites of the 18 species I saw today.  Row by row starting on top:  Yellow-rumped Warbler, Willet, Marsh Wren, Say's Phoebe, Yellow-headed Blackbird, Osprey, American White Pelicans (and a bonus Northern Shoveler in the background), Great-tailed Grackle and American Avocet.  The Marsh Wren is a new bird for me and I've never seen a Great-tailed Grackle in Colorado.  I was smiling all the way....except for the half mile on a VERY bumpy dirt road.

Besides all the wonderful birds, it was a perfect weather day - sunshine, mid 70s, very light breeze.  This morning I woke with a backache and didn't think I would be able to ride.  I soaked in the hot tub and took Advil (I know we're supposed to avoid ibuprofen but Tylenol doesn't help) and soon felt better and managed 24 miles.  My back didn't bother me and is no worse for the wear but I can tell the Advil has worn off.  I am grateful that I didn't miss my great ride today!

Tomorrow I'll catch up with everyone.  It's time for dinner and recliner now. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.