Life In Wales

By KarenC

Feeling sorry for himself!

We picked Louis up from the vet's last night, and he was such a sorry sight. He was trembling, his tail was between his legs, and his lovely clean white fur was covered in iodine and we can't wash him for 10 days.

We had to carry him to the car as he wouldn't walk, and when he tried to have a 'pee pee' he couldn't and he was wimpering. We felt so sorry for him and so useless as we couldn't help him, but we gave him lots of cuddles on the sofa when we got him home.

He's got to wear this protective collar which is called 'The Comfy Cone', and is much better than the hard plastic ones we're used to - this one is a flexible fabric, so he's able to sleep in it quite well.

Our biggest problem now is getting him to have his antibiotic tablets, he refuses to open his mouth and clenches his teeth tightly shut! I finally managed to get this morning's tablet down by wrapping it in a piece of ham and basically forcing it down the back of this throat - not a very pleasant thing to do, so any tips would be very welcome!

He's got to have his tablets twice a day for 7 days, plus a painkiller in liquid form, but I've got a syringe for that, so wish me luck for tonight. Then on top of that I've got a cleaning spray for his wound which I have to spray twice a day. Alan came home for his lunch and I asked him to hold Louis while I sprayed it - I didn't realise it was yellow in colour and unfortunately missed fired and sprayed it all over Alan's shirt!

On a good note, seems brighter in himself today and able to move better, but he's still not eating anything, and is sleeping a lot. As for me, I'm still not feeling great and sleeping a lot too, but that's good and hopefully the rest will speed up my recovery.

Thank you for all your birthday wishes yesterday, and in particular Elaeundanla Teiteia for her special birthday blip :-) We enjoyed our Thai takeaway but I was very tired so went to bed about 10pm, and Alan decided to sleep in the spare room so that I didn't keep him awake coughing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.