The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Alliums

Dear goodness, I appear to have found my niche at last! It involves providing telephone support when helping older people install and access Zoom for the first time.

I spent the morning helping two such people get going, in preparation for a birthday party by Zoom this afternoon. I also blew up some balloons, wrapped a virtual present ( a jar of aubergine pickle) and made a cake out of two rice cakes sandwiched tother with cheese and chutney, with a chutney topping and a lighted cake candle. Later, after lunch (pasta and veg) I went to the corner shop to buy flour for a friend. Being muddled, I was early, so went for a walk in the rain-wet park, where I saw this seed head.

When I got back, I made tea for Steve and then got into my ridiculous party costume. Everyone manged to join the party apart from the birthday woman, whom I had assumed to have prior knowledge of Zoom...

Once she had got on board, we had a fine time with party jokes, costumes, a bottle stall game I had invented, and a general catch up. My connection dropped for a while, but everyone else stayed on. The upshot is that we've arranged for another for Sunday (another birthday) and a quieter one for Steve's sister's birthday on Saturday. That's in addition to the the Zooms we do already, with more sort-of-work Zooms creeping in. This is life in lockdown.

My colleague called round this evening, to collect a birthday card from a great distance. She is back at school, supporting one child, three days a week, wearing a mask and special clothing. Another colleague is also back. I had no idea. I have not been called upon (yet).

Dinner was pasta and veg (again). Steve hadn't had it for lunch. Now we're watching Blood (series 1) and Normal People

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.