Pink Confetti

Lockdown Day 39

I was surprised to see the sun shining through the curtains this morning as the forecast for today looked like more rain. So I got up early and took the boys out for a walk while it was nice, but Alan has only just woken up so didn’t want to come as it would mean him rushing for work. I’m glad I did as this afternoon has been sunshine and very heavy showers.

When we got back I watched Captain Tom’s 100th birthday fly past by two Spitfires, which brought tears to my eyes watching him waving at them. He’s now raised over £31 million and the Queen has promoted him to Colonel, albeit he said he’s a Captain but if people want to call him Colonel, that’s fine ;-)

I went to Sainsbury’s to do a food shop, spent a long time washing it all when I got home, had lunch with Alan and then had a video call with Ibby. He was originally due to fly to Gatwick and we were going to spend the day together in Brighton, but sadly that couldn’t happen, so it was nice to chat instead.

Tonight we clapped with our neighbours- Nicola and Steve had made a rainbow of balloons which they tied to their balcony on Tuesday night, but sadly with the wind and rain some of the balloons seem to have disappeared!

We watched Boris’ Coronavirus update and he said that a plan will be revealed next week with regards to easing the lockdown, although dates wouldn’t be given yet, and I hope they don’t relax it too soon! I found one point quite interesting in the he said face coverings and masks may be useful as we come out of lockdown. An interesting turn, let’s see what happens...


Happy 100th birthday Captain Tom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.