AN EXCITING DAY!

We had to be up quite early today as we had a Waitrose Delivery and this was brought by the lovely Alex, seen in my collage.  Strange to think that one of the exciting things in our week is a food delivery - but not forgetting our Afternoon Tea with the Neighbours!  How things have changed in our lives.  

What a great fella Alex was - but then all the ones who have delivered our groceries have been equally lovely.  It’s wonderful to see a different smiling face and someone who is happy in their work, but as he said, he is grateful to have a job in these difficult and challenging times for all of us.

I explained about Blip - as I do - before asking Alex if I could take a photograph, and he willingly agreed.  I said that I would be sending it to Waitrose to say how much we appreciated their service and how much we also appreciated seeing his smiling face - and he was quite chuffed, I think.  

I also wanted to show you my finished apron, after the help I have received from various Blip friends, when I had obviously not threaded the machine correctly and also put the bobbin in the wrong way!  I guess it’s easy when you know how, but having said that, our next door neighbour, Lynn, who has more knowledge than I about sewing machines, has bought the same machine and had the same issues - so perhaps I’m not as dense as I thought I was!

The material is from some curtains that are very old, but were very good quality when we bought them, so have lasted well.  The ribbon ties round the neck and at the back were sent to me by Veronica, a wonderful Blip friend, who does a lot of sewing for her fellow nuns, and who was very encouraging when I was a little “uptight” about the machine when I first bought it.  There are even a few flowers in the background in honour of Flower Friday and my selfie stick came in very handy again.

I won’t say I will ever be the world’s greatest seamstress, but I could hear my dear departed Mother-in-Law’s voice in my ear as I sewed saying, “Well done, dear - I knew you could do it!”  When I think of the way she used to “whizz something up” on her old treadle machine, I feel rather inadequate, but for every new skill we learn, we have to start somewhere.  I well remember watching a friend typing when I was a little girl and saying to her, “I wish I could type that fast” and now I think nothing of it - even my son was impressed with my 130 wpm and I don’t think I am far off that even now, at my age!

After two days indoors because of rain and sore thumbs, Mr. HCB is happily pottering in the greenhouse, so we will go out for a walk later - daren't take him away from his seedlings and plants.

Have a good weekend and stay safe - remember the lockdown is still in place - and we must all do our bit to contain the virus.

“The only skill that will be important 
     in the 21st century 
          is the skill of learning new skills.
               Everything else will become obsolete over time.”
Peter Drucker 1909-2005

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.