Rainy Day Impression: End of April

And then the weather pulled a full springtime maneuver on us, and it rained and rained and rained! We spent the day inside, except for my husband's forays outdoors to feed the birds. This picture was my view out the bedroom window. I was working and in the afternoon, my husband decided it was time to go downstairs and mess with his big honkin' stereo in the basement.

When my husband moved in, back in 2008/9, we set up part of the downstairs as a sort of bachelor pad for him. It's where he put all of his clothes and set up his stereo, featuring a rather large pair of Genesis 44 speakers, which cost him a month's salary back in spring of 1986, just before we met.

He hasn't had much chance to play that stereo lately, and there were issues with a cassette deck that apparently just can't be resolved right now. He may need to purchase a new one. We had that conversation: do we even have a single cassette deck in this house that WORKS?

But after that, he decided to go ahead and tune the thing up and play the turntable. And so it was that as the afternoon wore on, I heard strains of Santana, and then Robert Palmer, wafting up the stairs.

And then my work day was done, and I went and joined him. And he put on a record you will all recognize: Led Zeppelin IV, also known as ZoSo, also known as the Runes Album. We listened to the first side, which was about 22 minutes long. And as I sat there, I could see all of the birds coming and going from a feeder outside: a free bird show, set to music!

So it was that we spent the last day of April. It was rainy outside, but it was snug inside, where we were. It's been a very strange spring, I'll give you that. But is there much in life that gets any better than listening to Stairway to Heaven, at top volume, on a pair of Genesis 44's, in the rain?  No. I think not.

My soundtrack for this day is the whole first side of ZoSo. Please enjoy!
Black Dog
Rock and Roll
The Battle of Evermore
Stairway to Heaven
(Does anybody remember laughter?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.