A Cute Little Bunzini Tail

The other evening, there was a bunny dance showdown in the front yard. First two rabbits appeared, and they chased each other and jumped around and bounced up and down. And then a THIRD rabbit joined in, and the antics became crazy indeed.

Of course, they did all of this right around dusk, when the light was poor, with my husband and myself laughing and watching the antics from the window in Dexter's room. Alas, I did not get any pictures.

We have been watching closely but we have not seen any more wild rabbit dance-offs in the yard since then. But we are hopeful indeed that we may get to witness such a show again soon. Their yard frolic was absolutely delightful. And I suspect it is all part of the regular spring rabbit activities that will lead to more little bunnies in the yard. Hooray: more Bunzinis!

Let me take just a moment to share a few links to older blip postings about one of the original Bunzinis, Mini Bunzini, who just might have been my husband's favorite rabbit of all time. Mini Bunzini first appeared in September 2014. My husband began feeding the yard rabbits and earned her trust. Since then, there have been several generations of Bunzinis. Yes, it is a long and glorious tradition.

On this morning, my husband spotted one of our rabbits hanging out by a row of tree slices. They aren't really tree trunks. A big tree fell in our yard last year, and it was hard work cleaning up after it.

But I kept about a dozen of the thicker tree slices to place as a set of natural chairs around the edges of our yard. The wild critters adore them, and they play and eat near and on top of them. (I have also used them myself, as a location to set up my winter bubble freezing experiments. So they have been useful indeed!)

The rabbit in the photo took its own good time nibbling on the fresh green grass all along the edge of the yard. It would lean forward, bend its back legs just as you see in this photo, and sort of push itself forward. These activities gave us a very good view of its adorable little bunzini tail!

Here is a song to shake your tail by:  Tina Turner, with Shake a Tail Feather.

P.S. Also, please enjoy a bonus shot in the extras of myself and Dexter, in our typical hangout during the great coronavirus quarantine of spring 2020. It appears that - not unlike John and Yoko - Dexter and I are having a "Bed In."  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.