Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Sonic's Burger Bar, Southend-on-Sea

I slept in until 6.30am today and had a leisurely start to the day. I decided to go to Southend to check out the strip where the amusements/pubs/clubs are, ironically named the "Golden Mile" (it's neither). It was deserted except one or two others and some kind of "people traffic wardens", one of whom was talking to a cyclist over the road who was sitting down taking a rest. Heading up the back streets I got talking to a lovely woman, named Terry, who explained they were moving people on if they dared to sit down. I don't know who advises them to do this but it's in direct contradiction of the police guidance which states "Stopping to rest or to eat lunch while on a long walk" is perfectly fine. As said, the place was deserted so I have no idea what they thought they were doing, but Terry, who lived nearby, was quite hacked off with them for their horrendous attitude.... a fine example of Southend's policing in the community.

Anyway, round the back of the "Golden Mile" I found this salubrious eatery. I would have a preferred someone hanging out of the serving hatch but, unfortunately, that will have to wait until another another time.

The weekend's here... enjoy it! :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.