frost in may*

It's traditional for us to go out on May 1st and experience the dawn chorus. I say "experience" because it's more than just listening to the birds.

I set the alarm for 4.40 but was awake before that so we stumbled out of bed and down into the garden. I'm glad that I'd put a warm coat on over my pjs because it was chilly out there - not a breath of wind, but a light frost on the grass. We walked the frosty labyrinth and watched the sky lighten in the NNE. This photo was taken at just past 5am and it took another twenty-five minutes or so for the sun to peep over the horizon, by which time we were heading back to bed :-) 

The weather looks set to be fine for days to come...have a lovely weekend everyone!

*also the title of a 1933 book by Antonia White, which I enjoyed reading a few years back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.