The Mixed Species Hedge

And still we have the wind arriving from the North which feels decidedly chilly. I imagine that most of the East Coast is experiencing this cool breeze.

It is Saturday, and I awoke really early at 5:00 a.m. I was awakened by Pat who was playing some card game her first iPhone.

Bought in July 2007, in Edinburgh, it is still functioning on the original battery. It is one of a pair and my one is in similar condition apart from a couple of scratches on the case. It is full of ripped CDs and is to connected to our venerable Hifi system.

After I treated Pat’s back and knees with ice packs I did some work in the studio before making breakfast.

Breakfast features scrambled eggs and Smoked salmon. I always mix the eggs with double cream. They are really tasty with fresh brewed Italian Coffee and orange juice.

After breakfast Pat and I put together the order for next week’s delivery from Sainsbury’s. Most of the items have been given to "Alexa" over the last few days, and there are several more added  before the list is complete and the delivery slot is booked.

After showering I had my usual walk around the garden and discovered another maple tree growing under a lilac tree. It is about 45cm tall and I will have to move it to another place in the autumn.

There is very little traffic about and I can hear the sounds of people working in the Polytunnels across the road.

I do hear the sound of a very powerful motorcycle being accelerated at speed along the dual carriageway to Dundee. This is quite a frequent activity, and the riders will frequently reach speeds well over 100 m.p.h.

Today’s Blipfoto is of our "street" and shows the hedges leafing up. The hedges are a variety of species and are home to many birds.

I have also noticed one or two signs of rabbits making the beginnings of warrens in the garden. They have not lived here in The Policies for a few years, but the much lower amounts of traffic will have encouraged them to try again.

I have quite a few emails to write as well as several computer maintenance and upgrades to perform.

After lunch I had planned to garden, but the cold weather encouraged me to have a second glass of wine, and watch a Netflix movie.

I am now upstairs editing this entry.

I have written a note congratulating the new Members Centre Committee decision to donate £10,000 to the National Trust for Scotland and with the suggestion that another £10,000 could be donated.

Many NTS members have not renewed this year as they will not be able to visit any properties, however, funds are still required.

I have maintained regular payments to the Church, my Dentist, Historic Environment Scotland, NTS and the Scottish Arts Club to name several.

When life becomes more open we will wish these organisations and groups to be around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.