Maidstone Gateway tree sculpture

For a change we reversed the Saturday routine. We went walking in the afternoon rather than the morning. It was not a pleasant experience as being a weekend there were more people about. Most were very good although a sizeable majority were not so disciplined.

I had to say to a group of three who occupied the whole path to give us some space please. They ignored us and passed within a metre, I think they were foreign.

I was out giving a second coat of paint to Susan’s studio this morning (instead of the afternoon as I planned). I heard the high pitched whining roar of many motorbikes and the throaty acceleration of souped up cars every few minutes. I thought to myself how nice, all these people out to get the weekend shopping for their grannies or self isolating neighbours.

We went to look at part of the various displays Maidstone are putting up at the gateways to town to welcome visitors. This rather attractive tree carving illustrates the many fruits and other produce grown in Kent including strawberries, apples, pears, cob nuts and hops. I hope we get some visitors to see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.