Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Zoomed! (Day 47)

Our usual leisurely start to the day was on fast forward this morning. We read an email requesting that we join in a Zoom chat with friends in NZ and Oz at 9am. In ten minutes!! We can move fast when necessary...

Zoom is great, especially as it’s free for 40 minutes. Our NZ pals were saying how marvellous their autumn has been, and our pal in Sydney complained that their weather had just turned, and it was now FREEZING. We asked what temperature it was - 16°! Jings! That’s almost a summer temperature here.

In fact, we had a lovely sunny morning, with neighbours in the front garden, then Elizabeth came to get Archie - check out the Extra, his wee feet are off the ground in his desperation to give her a kiss.

After our fitness exercises, we walked down to the Meadows. JR to do her run (20 minutes non-stop today!) And I got a hire bike. I cycled round the Meadows five times, which took about an hour. Cycling under the blossom was like being in a dream... There was a long queue at the caravan selling coffees and burgers. I passed the same folk, I’m sure,  several times, as the queue was slow moving.

Having the earpods is great. I can ask what time it is, or ‘(Hey Siri) next track’ and don’t have to take my phone out of my pocket. 

I walked very slowly home, with a sit down on a convenient bench. I think I’ve overdone it today. After my shower, I spent the rest of the afternoon on the sofa, listening to my book. Unfortunately I did doze off a couple of times, but got the gist of it. In fact, I finished it, and now have Bill Bryson’s ‘The Body’.

Death total is now 28,131 - we’re on track to have Europe’s worst results, which is pathetic, as we watched it in other countries and should have/could have been ready for it. I hope they learn from other countries’ ways of easing lockdowns.





 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.