a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Lockdown reading

Hobbs recently blipped an Asimov paperback with a lovely 1970's cover.  I'm pretty sure that I owned that version myself, back in the day.  About 10 years ago, and in an effort to declutter prior moving house, I got rid of all the books that I was able to replicate in e-reader versions.  As a result I have very few classic 1970s paperbacks left with their distinctive cover art.  I miss them now, although not the space they would take up.  

I remember buying the book in the this shot, probably towards the end of the '70s, the back cover tells me that it cost 70p.  Its not the most iconic of covers, sadly.  But redolent of the era all the same.

I've always enjoyed reading in the sunshine.  Of course, nowadays I need reading glasses.  Reading in the sunshine is a real joy, but the hay fever means that I need to wear sunglasses in bright sunshine if I am to avoid the constantly problem of streaming eyes.  The answer was to get a pair of prescription lens sunglasses.  Money very well spent I feel!

As I was hanging out some washing this morning, I heard a strangely familiar, loud noise in the distance.  At first I couldn't work out what it was.  I sort of knew that it was a transport related noise but it wasn't a very noisy lorry or a train.  Then I realised and looking up spotted a jet coming towards us.  It was a twin engined easy jet plane (low enough for me to clearly see the white and orange livery) presumably aiming to land at Bristol Airport which is about 15 miles away.  The noise had been the engines throttling back I think.  If the camera had been handy I would have blipped it, after all, its a real rarity nowadays.

That got me musing.  The noise was a blessed nuisance and a real intrusion into the peace and quiet that I had been enjoying in the garden.  While it will be nice to be able to travel again, I am going to miss that peace and quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.