Turkey Vulture

I often watch these guys gliding on wind currents when I go outside.  They are so graceful looking up in the sky. 

Since the Turkey Vulture is a scavenger and does not know when or where it's next meal is coming from, they will rock from side to side in flight, rarely flapping its wings which are held at a V-angle called a dihedral.  Turkey Vultures ride the thermal drafts/currents to conserve energy.

Personally, I enjoy watching them soar through the skies but I always think when I see them that it's a good thing they are so graceful in the sky because boy they are one ugly bird!

I did a little bit of pruning and shaping in the garden this morning and Kent did major briar vine control.  He battled the large vine that plaques the hydrangea every year and he cleared out lots of vines from the property line azaleas in the front yard.

My Mr House Finch from yesterday, came back again this morning and sang his song in full voice once more.  I hope he repeats his performance daily for the foreseeable future.

I sorted some of my "stuff" that has begun to clutter by the sofa and tried hard not to nap.  I have decided on my next beading project and got it ready to go.

For a quiet Saturday, I got a few good things done.  :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.