Farewell, Dear Friend. Til We Meet Again

Today my dear friend Rhod lost his battle with Covid-19. It’s been a long journey over the last 3 or more weeks.

I have known Rhod since my teenage years and he has been a good friend to our whole family, always joining us at Christmas and other big holidays and family weddings. We will miss him every time we have a big family gathering. The picture in the centre and the middle left picture are from my niece’s wedding 10 years ago. I was there with another date, but Rhod and I had a spin on the dance floor!

Rhod loved Dolly and she adored him, as she knew him from her youngest puppy days. We often called him ‘Dolly’s boyfriend’. I’ve included Rhod in several of my blips, but this one here is my favourite one, featuring Dolly too.

A few years ago Rhod and Dolly and I did a narrowboat trip around the Worcester area (bottom middle  and right pictures). It was a ‘bucket-list’ trip for me and we had so much fun, even though I know he despaired of me struggling through the locks while he steered the boat! I said to him not long ago that I hoped we would do another trip on the canals, maybe with some other friends this time. I’m sad that that will never happen. Sad also that I never took Rhod on a plane even though we talked about that too and he liked the idea. Rhod had never been on a plane - not afraid, just felt there was plenty to see close to home.

Rhod was known for his crazy t-shirts and I admit I bought him the Santa one and the one on the right, middle.

Rhod was a kind, faithful and caring friend. A committed Christian, he was an active member of his church, always had a heart for those who were vulnerable, and has worked for various Christian charities. He had a brilliant mind - someone you definitely wanted on your team at a pub quiz. I will miss the depth of our conversations and our occasional heated debates. Rhod was a good listener, caring, selfless, and loving, but also maddening at times (!). He was musical, quirky, compassionate, messy, and addicted to custard.

Rhod touched so many people’s lives in more ways than I’ll ever know and we are all heartbroken.  It is a huge loss for US - his friends, his sister and his father. I was blessed to be his friend for so many years and am thankful that our Christian faith means that this is not the end, but only a temporary separation.

Rest in God’s peace, dear friend. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.