Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 41 - Sunrise Baby

I wasn't expecting to be up in time for the sunrise, less still to be in a position at the edge of the estate to capture anything.  A predominantly cloudy sky, but just enough fiery light penetrated to give colour in the distance.

And just as I was capturing this the phone came alive with messages in the family group.  "He's here" (5:27 am); "10 lb 1 oz" (5:28 am).  And so a new life has begun.  Despite the hour there were plenty of responses from the new grandparents, uncles, great uncles etc.  I had an extra spring in my step as I walked across the field.  We even had pictures after a little while, my nephew beaming into the lens with his new son in his arms, his wife on the bed, recovering.  The only sadness is that none of us can visit until things settle down but that is a small thing compared with the wonderment of a new generation in the family.  And the new parents won't be disturbed by constant visitors as they get used to parenthood.

As I completed my walk and returned home to wake L (who I couldn't get to answer the phone), I saw deer, a fox and plenty of new animal life along the canal.  Is there a better time of the year?  Not at the moment, I must say.

Day Miles: 4.2 miles Total miles: 560.0 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.