Cigs

By Cigs

Eskmills

Having avoid intensive care and ventilators, my doctor advised me to take it easy. I nodded in agreement, and have been slowly regaining match fitness, in readiness to resume duties. I checked, I have key worker status as official Cigs photographer. However I have to provide my own PPE and am not allowed to be clapped on Thursdays. 

Having beaten a path to Cramond in recent days with no ill effects, I felt ready to tackle Musselburgh into a 'stiff breeze' - offically confirmed by a nautical type at the start line.

I made a point of using one of 3 short stretches of road in Edinburgh that has been closed to ease the pressure on pavements - a move that prompted someone on twitter to declare it would lead to gridlock in the city. Er - 2.3 miles of road and given the reduced levels of vehicular traffic I'm not sure gridlock is possible at the moment. Oh well.

After the nautical type, I also encountered the bike shop mannie on his wee Harley that he'd accepted in part exchange for a couple of e bikes. Afwy shiny it was. And loud. And low end torque in abundance, too. 

Finally I wound up in Musselburgh, ready to resume. I hardly saw a soul from the city limits until I parked the bike up; I think everyone is self isolation on the path by the Esk. Or they could just be admiring the purple stuff mentioned by blip's resident botanical expert here. It's abundant and purple.

I snaffled a shot or two, you can tell I'm not 100% match fat yet, but it's good to be back. All we need now is Cigs to break quarantine and head for his nearest wall, armed with paint. There's plenty have been (725, Guzler, Theft, OHKS).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.