Xampu

Today’s events have mainly consisted of the following:

My sister puzzling over whether to have her new kitchen island in white or slate grey.

Watching an episode of Coronation Street (guilty pleasure that I can’t access in Mozambique) and Gugs being horrified (although I think only in mock horror).

Realising that 1) cat hair does not come out of clothes after washing them, 2) the new airer I bought to replace Heidi’s broken one does not function, and 3) when hoovering cat hair from the carpet it forms a mat that is impossible to suck up.

Catching up with our old colleague Rachel who’s juggling the confinement of lockdown life, working from home and schooling her daughter, all as a single parent. Rach and I formed the interview panel that actually recruited Gugs into our team in 2012.

Plugging away with some Duolingo and enjoying the Portuguese word for shampoo: xampu

As I brushed my teeth, pondering about an unlikely photo series, Toothpastes of the World. This tube is an Indian brand Gugs bought in Myanmar before she moved back. I’ve used some odd toothpastes before in different parts of the world, however on reflection Colgate is an incredibly ubiquitous brand, on sale in some of the remotest outposts. Perhaps a less riveting and original photo series after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.