Cast ne'er a cloot till may be oot

It's been a fine, warm, dry spring here but you have to be cautious about casting off your semmit (vest). I'm not sure we've reached confident casting off days just yet. But the may blossom is coming out so here is some for a blip.

I was awake early so decided to take my walk first thing. Poor Flora is a reluctant early riser but she was fine once we got going. Good walk to the abbey and over the fields. Saw the deer but not the hares. The larks were in fine voice. Then round the river path. We are having the lowest of low tides. You could see the river bed even right in the middle. As I walked the tide turned and starting coming in. Until you know it can be disconcerting. We are a long way from the firth and further still from the sea and you don't expect the river to be so obviously tidal. But it is.

Still dry but cloudier now. I'm about to chat to my friend in Fortrose but I'm also waiting for a gas engineer. Slight smell of gas near the meter. Eek. The engineer is to be here 'within the hour'. I'm hoping he (or she) doesn't need to come into the house.

Hope everyone has a good start to the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.