empty

An empty play park is a sad sight at the best of times, but “closed due to Covid19” notices on the swings and slides is just horrible. I hope the children of Shawhead are out in their gardens on this lovely sunny afternoon.

As I was cycling down to the village, the scent of bluebells and the waving cow parsley along the roadsides reminded me that this is usually the beginning of exam time here in Scotland. For a while, I was employed as an
Invigilator at one of the local high schools. We were there to ensure that the exams were run fairly, although it sometimes felt like being a prison warder. I felt very sorry for the kids cooped up in stuffy rooms for hours on end on beautiful May days, trying to squeeze knowledge out of their brains and onto the page. 

Of course, there are no exams this year, but they’re cooped up in a different way...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.