Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

I love meeting new people

This is Tom. He is a 21st century waller and I met him when I was on my walk today. He is working on a long collapsed wall, not far from the famous one by Hadrian! 

He explained about the way he constructs his walls to make them last for more than 100 years. This wall had been badly constructed but his new wall has very good foundations. 

Tom is planning on leaving a sealed metal container in the middle of the wall. It will have photos of the construction and an account of life as it is lived now. When the wall finally gives way, someone in the distant future can read about 2020. Isn't that a wonderful idea?

It was fairly cold today. The easterly wind was keeping Tom on the cold side as he worked. It was quite good weather for walking and I managed the longer distance without any significant difficulties.

I did meet a number of other people to chat to, which was fun.

We watched the final of Mastermind and the second of Grayson Perry's Art Club this evening. Both were very good, but I realised it was Grayson who had us smiling and laughing.

Life in the Time of Covid 19
I forgot to say that one of the district nurses phoned yesterday to check if we are managing OK during the lockdown. It was good to hear her and her concern for us. She reassured me that there would be help at hand if we needed it.

I will be downloading the app to spread the word about local infections when it becomes available. It will only be one way of trying to trace people who have the virus, but I think it's worth adding in. Contact tracers are being employed. They need to hit the ground running to help us get out of the lockdown.

I plan to keep on behaving much the same for the foreseeable, but I don't need to go to work......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.