Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Scorpion - Summer in the Desert

I was waiting to have my first preëmptive pest spray until I saw my first scorpion.  Today was the day.  It was the first thing I saw this morning when I went into the bathroom.  Good timing for tiny Tuesday!

Today is also Cinco de Mayo. It marks the anniversary of the Battle of Puebla, a surprise victory over the French by Mexican forces in 1862. However, the French came back with 30,000 troops under a new commander and were able to overrun Puebla and easily conquer Mexico City not long afterwards. it's not a Mexican holiday and is not widely celebrated in Mexico.

Cinco de Mayo is not to be confused with Mexican Independence Day, which falls on September 16. That was established in 1810, some 50 years before the Battle of Puebla occurred.

I've felt better today than I have in a couple of weeks.

Barbershops/salons will be opening in Arizona on Friday with dine-in restaurants opening next Monday.  Our  Republican governor had extended everything until May 15, and I thought he was doing a decent job, but Trump came for a visit today. He caved. Gov. Doug Ducey is back to being Gov. Doug Douchey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.