BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 45

Imprisonment - Day forty five
Tuesday 5th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 26
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 0
Runners - 2
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 6.3c

What a difference a gusty wind makes when cycling as this morning it took me one hour three minutes and fifty five seconds some three and a half minutes longer than yesterday. Although I was delayed for about a minute while the dustmen collected the bins. As usual I saw Double Dog who was walking with Shortsman.

I got slightly waylaid from working on the shelves for the shed as I decided to increase the length of the guide on my monster saw bench. I bought the saw some fifteen years ago with the sole purpose of cutting up timber for the wood burner. However having used it successfully to cut up timber for my racking etc I've found that it needs a modification to the guide which positions the wood against the saw blade to give a straight cut. The guide was two inches too short and did no reach the blade so I decided to add a steel plate to make it longer. Fortunately I had a piece just the right size it didn't even need adjustment. I bolted it to the original guide but the time consuming part was grinding down three bolts to fit the countersunk holes as the face of the guide needs to be flat. It all went well and fell into place and more importantly it guides the wood more accurately especially when nearing the end of a cut as previously the wood moved across causing an uneven sawn surface.

With this done I then attacked the shelves which although again time consuming all went well and sawing up the timber was far easier with the extended guide. I had hoped to have had them painted by the end of the day but they're finished and I'll paint them first thing tomorrow. Of course there were slight complications as I had to resite my air compressor hose real and my fire extinguisher but with those two jobs done all that's needed now is painting and fixing them to the wall.

During the afternoon the Bentley paint arrived and from the splash they tested on my metal sample sheet the colour match looks perfect.

Also during the afternoon the scrapman popped in to say hello and wondered if I had any scrap metal for him. Usually when he calls I have a fair amount but today he had meagre pickings. It was nice to chat with him at a distance. He told me the lockdown had made little difference to him as he'd been out collecting scrap as normal as he does not really come into contact with anyone.

Tomorrow after painting the shelves weather permitting it's lawn mowing cleaning Ros' car and tidying up the Motor Hose as it looks as if a bombs hit it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.