New Life in an old Phone

A couple of years back I needed a new phone and I looked at the Fairphone, because I liked the idea that it was easily repaired, used responsibly sourced materials, and was designed to last 5 years.  Unfortunately, it cost about twice as much as other phones with a similar spec.
Instead I decided to go for a reconditioned iPhone; it wasn't as ethical but it did what I needed and buying it second-hand was a small contribution to the environment.
Now, 2 years later, my phone seemed to be reaching the end of its life and I was wondering again what to buy. Then Shelling, who has the same phone as me, mentioned he'd changed the battery on his and it was "as good as new"!
I got a web address, checked out the details and for around £25 soon had a new battery and the relevant toolkit. So this was today's adventure. In the picture you see my workstation. Computer with the relevant video; instruction leaflet in front of me; eggbox to my right for all the small (so very small) screws; coffee to the left for sustenance; and just hanging into the top of the picture, a large magnifying glass with a light.
It took me 7 times longer than the woman in the video but it worked, and if I needed to do it again it would go quicker. There were a few moments of tension but in general it was fairly simple. I was very glad of the magnifying glass because the smallest screws were almost microscopic!
When I looked at the website I was also delighted that every part of the phone I could think of was also available at a reasonable price. Replacing parts isn't as simple as with the Fairphone but it is doable, and selling parts so we can repair the popular phones must be part of the way forward.
I worked out that my phone is 4 years old, and with a bit of luck I'll get at least one more year, and maybe two, out of it now. Since I mostly use a camera to take photographs the phone is only needed for phone calls and a little social media so I can get by without the latest tech tricks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.