Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 47 You

Another beautiful day. Today was extremely busy as we'd been asked to prepare a word for a message that we're going to send out to the children from school. I hadn't actually read the email until last night and the word was due in today! I'd decided what to do so today I started baking. I made 2 batches of fairy cakes, some with chocolate chips and after they had cooled down, decorated them with the remains of icing sugar that I'd found in the cupboard. It's like gold dust at the moment and not available in any shops. I ran out before the end so then melted some chocolate buttons and the rest had a bit of melted chocolate on. The ones with chocolate and strawberries on were definitely my favourites! When I'd finished, I got the sun umbrella out and set up in the garden. Dan obliged by being the photographer and eventually I managed to get a picture that I was happy with. The vultures then descended on the cakes even though I'd let them have a few warm ones each as soon as I was sure that I had enough. (Warm fairy cakes are always the best. It turns out warm fairy cakes with chocolate chips are delicious!) Although my word was 'you', we all tried to show ourselves in our pictures so it's more 'me' really. I took it in the garden because that's where I love to be when it's sunny, I also included cake, my lovely clematis in the background, my Kindle and a cuppa because they're some of my favourite things.
Apart from baking, I cycled (indoors), did some ironing, loads of washing, marking, answering school emails and cooked a cottage pie. While tea was cooking, we had a lovely walk. All in all a very busy day and I managed to get my photo done on time.
In the news, deaths were back into the 600s and we've now passed 30,000 deaths in the UK. Boris agrees that the figures are too high and he's apologised for the situation in nursing homes. The press have got on the bandwagon that there's an announcement coming at the weekend that may lift some lockdown restrictions and are running front page headlines predicting what will happen. This of course lulls people into a false sense of security and makes them think that lockdown is ending and some are now taking too many risks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.