Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

Donna Nook in the Spring

Had to do some of my substantive post work today, this involved a trip to sunny Skegness to collect mobile phones for my staff team.  I knew it would be deserted but somehow I was not prepared for see this seaside resort desolate on the run up to a bank holiday - it was strange.

Took a little time out mid afternoon and did a detour on my way home to visit out little beach.  It is so different in the spring and summer - I saw three people -all social distancing of course.  What a change for the thousands that walk the footpaths in the seal breeding season.  No red flags today, no chance of getting bombed so I walked out just a little to get a slightly different shot of the beach and salt marsh.  It was lovely and was a really boost for my mood,

I was feeling a bit low yesterday and I think I have worked out why. there are two reasons, the first is that our little (well not so little now) Mya was due to leave and return to her birth Mum on May 1st.  I am really happy about this and view it as a real success for all involved.  However Mya was on a weekend visit when the government lock down was announced and she stayed there.  We had some special moments planned and like everyone else we have had to cancel our plans. I am OK with that, but I am the one who is now packing up her room and feeling intrusive because I am having to get into every nook and crannie.  Mya is fine about it and has said I can throw some stuff away but I won't.  What really is eating at me I think is that we haven't had closure by being able to say goodbye properly.  I know we can meet up again after the lockdown but in my head she has already gone.  Moving her bank account was the last thing I could do for her and it just seems so final even thought I know we will never loose touch.

Secondly, I am really tired.  Phil was taken ill on Monday and had to be taken to the hospital.  It is so strange not to be able to go with your loved ones and just adds to the anxiety.  I didn't sleep properly on Monday and was awake listening to him breath on Tuesday evening after I had collected him from Scunthorpe!  His results are inconclusive but the tested his heart and  head and have decided that his issues are skeletal and muscular cause by his surgery two years ago.  He is home but still in pain and not happy to take pain meds as they make him feel so ill.  He has had to go back to more tests and an ultra sound on his neck and is warfarin levels are all over the place so the are trying to get some stability with them.  He did test negative for Covid -19 and is now one of the governments statistics for testing :-).

Our other young lady - I need to think of a name to use when I refer to her, as I am not allowed to photograph or name her on social media - is a real blessing.  We ordered some books for her weeks ad weeks ago and they arrived today.  You would think we had been given the most expensive gift money could buy she is so thrilled with them.   I wished she had selected more but she is so unpretentious it was hard to get her to take even two.   Postage for them was £40+ so more would have been  advantageous as I am sure it couldn't have cost any more.   Worth every single penny though to be honest. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.