Small Copper #5

We had a good day today but were a bit naughty. At 16:30 we drove to Spike Island which is 8 minutes and 3.9 miles away. I just needed a change of scenery after doing the same walk for so long. It’s still within the rules but we did feel a bit bad. There were quite a few people about on bikes especially, but social distancing was always maintained. (I would have come home if I thought we were in any danger). 

Anyway it was wonderful to get back to the water again, the pond, the river Mersey and the Sankey - St Helens Canal. We had a great walk where we saw lots of birds, a few butterflies, my first Damselfly - a blue tailed Damselfly, and part of the Trans Pennine trail that we’d so far not known about (as it has been closed whilst the new bridge was being built). 

I liked this small copper butterfly which I only managed a few shots of before it flew off, but also the swan and the Future Flower sculpture by Tonkin Liu, which has been there for 10 years as part of the regeneration project. 

I’ll catch up with journals tomorrow as I am quite tired now as we spent the morning gardening and then had a two hour walk in the afternoon/evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.