Adam's Images

By ajt

Little daisy

FIrst off thanks for the kind words, stars and hearts for yesterday's bilp birthday. Today's blip is another daisy, though this one is the smaller variety and far more three dimensional that I thought.

Today I played with RawTherapee to work on some older images, it seems in the raw you can (if careful) salvage a lot of pictures that have been screwed up with purple fringing, haze and washed out sky. Mostly because I take a lot of pictures on holiday in the middle of the day as we do stuff, and the light often isn't best then.

Today is Victory in Europe day, marking the end of the struggle between the Nazis and the rest of the world. Many people died to defeat the cancer of populisms, nationalism and hate. Sadly we've not learnt our lesson and the cancer is again growing at the heart of our nations, destroying decent men and women as the vile corruption spreads...

My parents were children during the second world war and my grandparents were too old or in reserved occupations so none of them had to fight. My father's brother was sent into Arnhem and didn't enjoy the experience - he never said anything other than that. Post war both my parents were enrolled, my mother in Civil Defence and my father in the RAF Police.

I know live in France and you don't have to go far to find someone's relative who was involved, there are thousands of foreigners buried all over France who came to help and didn't go home. I thank them for their ultimate sacrifice, France is free because of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.