Bishopsteignton VE75

The 75th Anniversary of VE (Victory in Europe) day. A day of celebration of the end of the 2nd World War but also a day of remembrance of the many lives lost all over the world.

In Bishopsteignton as in many places we were due to have a day of celebration and concerts with a 1945 theme. That was before we knew anything about the scourge of coronavirus and the lockdown that has resulted. We still had a trumpeter from the village playing The Last Post and after that a network of 26 public address systems around the village; including one on my balcony, played a prepared MP3 file of 1940s music and a few sound bytes fom Winston Churchill our wartime leader that lasted for two hours. We finished with a sound track of 'We'll Meet Again' and 'White Cliffs of Dover' that we could all join in and sing along too.

My intention was that I would blip a picture of my part of that when I saw the above on the village Facebook page I knew that would have to be my blip. This Spitfire has been knitted by Caroline and her Knit & Tink group in the village and it's been put up in someone else's house which is in a prominent position in the village. I've got a feeling this couldy go viral as it gets sent around the country and the world. I love my village, so many talented people devoting their time to making life better.

My other photo of the day is in as an extra plus a rather nice version that my sister-in-law, Pip has done.

In other news I learned that there had been an item on the news about guerilla's who have taken to sprinkling drawing pins near routes that are popular with cyclists, in some kind of protest that they're flouting the lockdown rules. Hmm?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.