A-wop-bop-a-loo-bop-a-wop-bam-boom!

Continuing the post war theme from yesterday, I found this Fray Bentos pie in a cupboard downstairs. These were first imported into post-war Britain, although Fray Bentos was a well known brand for corned beef for a long time before that.

In the Boer War, they supplied corned beef to the British Army in South Africa and in the first world war one of the early British tanks was given the nickname "Fray Bentos", because the men inside felt like tinned meat.


This pie hasn't been in the cupboard that long, of course, we saw it in the supermarket some months ago and remembered them fondly from our pasts. It went downstairs into the 'overstocks' cupboard and when I saw it today decided that its time had come!  It's a pity I couldn't find a more vintage tin opener.

I put the title in because I just heard on the news that Little Richard passed away today aged 87.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.