We'll meet today

I am sure there are going to be loads of VE Blips today. Our row of houses had a tea party which went amazingly well. I got to meet neighbours who only live two doors along but who I'd never clapped eyes on before. In fact some of them are still out there now drinking and distancing. A great success. 

Thanks to all our great neighbours for making an effort. They have family connections back to WWII with amazing stories. A Norwegian grandma who remembered her resistance fighter parents helping out refugees. A Canadian granddad who signed up early and lost a leg in the D Day campaign.  A Greek Cypriot grandparent who was driving a truck in the Sahara. That's a photo story being held up showing a granddad who fought at El Alemein.

So many stories, all doing their bit to give us our freedom. I know that sounds corny but they all played their part. Both my parents served in the war. My mother in the ATS and my dad in the Royal Artillery. He served in Burma but never spoke about it. It is a regret that I never dragged their stories from them before  they died. And now I will never know. So it was uplifting to hear these other stories today. Proudly told by the grandchildren of those brave men and women.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.