SILLY SATURDAY

I decided that it might be a good idea to do a fast walk down to the local garage to buy newspapers for us and our lovely neighbours, so just after 7 a.m. off I went with my earbuds in and some good worship songs playing.  It is a beautiful morning, the sun was shining, there was just a gentle breeze, there wasn’t much traffic and as there was virtually no-one about, I was able to sing to my heart’s content - I sang this song at the top of my voice and it felt great!  I really do miss singing, but having done it a couple of times now, whilst walking, I’m sure I will do it again - and if you think that’s silly, then I’m sorry, but it felt really good and definitely got rid of some pent-up feelings inside.  I can thoroughly recommend it.

I got to the garage and chose the newspapers and went to the window to pay, but then realised that I needed a small gift for my son for his birthday tomorrow (and at this point I can’t tell you what it is, because he may see this!)  However, I had only taken a small amount of cash, so when I explained to the cashier that I may not have enough money, a lovely fella in a nearby taxi shouted over to me that if I didn’t have enough, then he would give me what extra money I needed - what a great guy and certainly not silly!

Having got what I wanted, and I did have enough money, I went on my way, passing these bottles - now this is silly!  I had to do some rearranging, of course, but as I haven’t been out shopping now for over two months, I’ve missed doing that - so having made sure all the labels were facing frontwards, I took the shot.  I know the Met Office has said that the weather is going to be changing from tomorrow, but are we really going to need anti-freeze?  Brrrrrr. 

I’ve put a selfie in as an extra with one of my Post-It Notes on the side - you may remember that in 2014, instead of giving up something for Lent, I put up an encouraging Post-It Note in random places every day, and carried on doing this for two years, without missing a day.  As I belong to a group on Facebook for encouraging those who have lost weight and want to keep it off, I post one of these every day, and thought this would encourage people and make them smile.  Actually, it’s true whether you want to lose weight, keep it off or are happy with who you are - but I hope it will help someone today - because we all need to keep our spirits up and draw strength from what we are going through at the moment.

“It’s better to be 
     absolutely ridiculous
          than absolutely boring.”
Marilyn Monroe - and Mrs. HCB!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.