Life through the lens...

By ValC

The icing on the cake.

Or in this case the flower.
Primula Auricula one of my very favourite late spring flowers.
It looks as if it has been sprinkled with icing sugar.
This is Farina. A flour- like substance the plant secretes to protect the plant from the sun.
I originally bought this plant from a stall outside a farm, when we were out walking a few years ago.
It didn’t have a label but it is deepest maroon, almost black, and it may be called “ Nocturn”.
They were very popular in Victorian times, but went out of favour.
I think one of the reasons I like them is because it reminds me of my dad. He used to grow them in the rockery when I was a girl.

I wonder if this will be our last good day for a while. Very hot and sunny. Too hot for me even in the shade.
The clouds are now building up, and maybe a thunderstorm later.

We managed our usual walk this morning....just.
Not done much since. Recovering from yesterday!

Hope you are all enjoying another weekend in lockdown.
May be a little more freedom from Monday.
We will have to see what Boris has to say tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.