One, Two, Three

I heard this lot long before I could see them this morning - and then I only got to to see them when they appeared above the tree line and were visible against the sky. Quickly grabbed camera from backpack, switched to Shutter Priority (Tv) mode and managed one shot as I panned with them before they flew behind a big tree. Fortunately the shutter speed was set at 1/1600 and so their movement has been pretty much frozen. With the white clouds behind they have been rendered as silhouettes - but remarkably their wings are in sync!

I also tried my ‘invisible black background’ with an unknown wild flower - see extra. Not as good as the home ones for a couple of reasons, I think. The little LED panel is not nearly bright enough and so I had to hold it really close. My shutter speed dropped to 1/160 - which is too slow as the LED is continuous light and not a brief flash. Consequently not as sharp as my previous efforts. Also the aperture is too wide to give a good depth of field.

I also bottled my latest batch of beer and set off the next lot. Gonna need plenty in for the next few weeks. Cheers, hic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.