Here and Now

By Mole

Lake Erie Stones

We woke up to snow-covered ground.

I received a card from my dear friend JD today whose husband was an accomplished painter in retirement.  He made cards featuring his artwork and photography.  This one was titled Lake Erie Stones, so I blipped it on top of my stone water fountain with collected stones surrounding it.  Sitting behind it is a funny book about stones given to me by a friend many moons ago, obscured for copyright purposes.  I was sad to read how difficult living independently in a senior home is for my friend during C-19. Not much has changed since we last spoke a few weeks ago.  She still has her wits about her, although she's surrounded by mostly women who do not. 

Mr. Mole discovered a dead robin chick on the ground today.  He used a mirror to confirm all three chicks were gone from the nest as we suspected.  We hope they flew off and were not carried away by a predatory bird.

As we left for our evening walk, I took pictures for my neighbor of her son, his wife, and their three children visiting (all at a safe distance) .  They set up chairs, the barbecue grill, and food in the driveway while she sat in the garage.  Her son cooked and the grandkids played in the yard.  They said they were tailgating for Mother's Day!

Best wishes to all mothers out there for a happy Mother's Day!  And thanking my mother still, each and every day. RIP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.