Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Quiz Night!

Thanks to everyone who gave me a boost last week when I was having a bit of a wobble. I’m feeling much less wobbly this week, although I think we’re all, understandably, experiencing peaks and troughs at the moment as we navigate these unfamiliar waters.

I’m incredibly grateful for the virtual contact I’m able to have with family, friends, colleagues and my lovely fellow Blippers - it really helps to keep me going (although I also try to step away from screens and social media as much as possible, to maintain some sort of balance!). 

One reason to be glued to a screen tonight was one of the social highlights of the last couple of months; the chance to connect with the staff and customers of my favourite coffee shop, and one of the main social hubs of my life - the wonderful Lovelock’s! 

It’s their 4th birthday, and although unable to throw the ‘actual’ party she’d envisioned, the mighty Sarah Lovelock www.blipfoto.com/entry/2504367867147848345 and her partner Mark live-streamed the most fantastic, meticulously planned quiz night! 

I was able to link up with my great buddy, former colleague and regular Lovelock’s lunch-date Sarah B-B www.blipfoto.com/entry/2542690666773744911 and her partner Steve www.blipfoto.com/entry/2649385218238057528 to form a virtual team, and we reckon we scored 40 out of 65 (although maths isn’t our strong point...). We were particularly adept at the ‘Name that Dance’ and ‘Music Intros’ rounds! And I’d just like to praise Sarah L’s superb dance renditions. Vogue, Macarena, Running Man, Floss, Timewarp, Twist, YMCA, and that Beyoncé one... she can do ‘em all! 

Thanks to Sarah L and Mark for a great night, and for re-creating the classic ‘test card’ image that you see before you. For those of you who are too young to recognise it, or who are from elsewhere in the world, you can see the original here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Test_Card_F 

Today’s song is by the great Little Richard, whose death was announced today. Without him, my music collection would look and sound very, very different. And much less interesting. The film clip is a pretty stark demonstration of the white cultural appropriation of black music and culture, dating, as it does, from even more officially segregated times than we currently live in... an issue which has been very much on my mind as we see which sections of the population are proportionately more or less at risk from Covid-19 https://youtu.be/LVIttmFAzek RIP Richard. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.